JoAnn  Hill

Events

ATHENS - Services for Mrs. JoAnn Hill, 79, Athens, TX are scheduled for 11:00 a.m. Saturday, August 24, 2019 at the First Baptist Church in Athens, TX with, her pastor, Rev. Leonard Jackson of the Mount Calvary Baptist Church officiating. A viewing will also be held on Friday, August 23, 2019 from 3:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the Mount Calvary Baptist Church located at 837 N Prairieville Street, Athens, TX.
Burial will be in North Athens Cemetery under direction of Brooks, Sterling, & Garrett Funeral Directors, Tyler, TX.

Mrs. Hill departed this life at 1:59 a.m. on Sunday, August 18, 2019 at the UT East Texas Medical Center, Athens, Texas. She was preceded in death by her mother, Rena Mae White, her husband, Stanford Hill, Sr., two brothers James L. Wilson, Kenneth Ray Wilson, two sisters Carolyn Wilson Harthrone, Diann Louise Wilson and, a special friend who was like a sister, Bennie Ruth Franks.
She was born September 4, 1939 in Athens, to Rena Mae Pullins White and she was a lifelong resident of Henderson County. JoAnn was blessed to have three Aunts who helped to raise her, Almeta Warren (Nanny), Pearline Gammage (Sweet) and Beulah Shelton (Aunt Beulah). She was also preceded in death by each of these Aunts.
She graduated in 1957 as Salutatorian of her Fisher High School class. She was also a dedicated member of the Fisher High Alumni Association. She served on the Reunion Committee.
She accepted Jesus Christ as her Lord and Savior at an early age. She joined the Mount Calvary Baptist Church where she served and demonstrated her faith and love for the Lord for over sixty years in many roles as a youth, young adult, adult, and senior. JoAnn demonstrated the love of God and the fruit of the Spirit in her many acts of kindness and compassion in caring for family, neighbors, friends, and those in need.
On March 15, 1958, she was united in holy matrimony with Stanford Hill, Sr. They were married for 48 years prior to his transition into the presence of the Lord. To this union, three children were born, Phyllis LaJune, Stanford, Jr., and Patrick Dean.
She is survived by her three sons, Phil Sims (Patricia), Tacoma, Washington, Stanford Hill, Jr, Garland, TX, Patrick Hill, DeSoto, TX and her daughter, Phyllis Wright (Murphy), Desoto, TX. She is also survived by stepdaughters Malva Wideman (Robert), Athens, TX, Michelle York (Christopher, Sr.), Longview, TX, Vivian McLaurin (Donald), Trotwood, Ohio, Lakeetia Williams, Dallas, TX, Vera J. Harvey, Irving, TX and one stepson, Michael Cook (Phyllis), Athens, TX.
She is also survived by three brothers, James Edward Brookins and Bobby Hogg, Dallas, TX and Roy Wilson (Glenda), Tracy, California, one sister, Beverly Laws, Oakland, California, one sister-in-law, Jeanette Nickerson (Arthur), Garland, TX. Special friends who were as sisters to her included Ruby Roy (Austin), Tyler, TX and Jetta Bowman, Athens, TX. Her "children" included Kaison Walker and a special nephew and niece, Manford Hill (Sheila), Athens, TX, and Terry Bowman, Athens, TX.
She is also survived by seven grandchildren, ten great grandchildren, and one great great grandchild. These are the children of Phil Sims, Patrick Hill, Stanford Hill, and Phyllis Wright. She is also survived by a host of other grandchildren, great grandchildren and great great grandchildren through her stepdaughters and stepson. She is also survived by a host of other family members and friends.
To plant a tree in memory of JoAnn Hill, please visit Tribute Store.
Published on August 22, 2019
Plant a tree in memory
of JoAnn
Plant a tree

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

A place to share condolences and memories.

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on November 19, 2019.

8 posts

Pearlie Conley
Aug 25, 2019
Please accept my condolences for your love one. She will not be forgotten. A beautiful spirit woman. Just knowing another beautiful angel in heaven will be watching over us. She will truly be miss by all who knew her. (always a beautiful/helpful smile)
Our thoughts and are with the family.
Shirley Cooper
Aug 24, 2019
Mrs. Joann Hill was kind and generous. Her home and heart was open to all. Someone so special can never be forgotten. My deepest condolences and blessings to her loving family. 🕊
Gail Crawford
Aug 23, 2019
She was a special lady. Love to her family
Vivian McLaurin
Aug 23, 2019
Words my not suffice to express the heartfelt sorrow I feel for the passing of JoAnn but please accept my sincere condolences and I will include her in my prayers. May she rest in peace.
michelle
Aug 23, 2019
JoAnn was a sweetheart she was kind to everyone .She always showed me and my sisters respect and we always had respect for her .She will be missed by us and her family.
Jackie Adams Butler
Aug 22, 2019
JoAnn was very special to our family. When our mother (Mae C. Adams) first got sick, she was always there for her because we all lived out of town. This act of kindness will forever be in my heart.
Edward Payne (Eddie)
Aug 22, 2019
Ms. JoAnn Sims Hill competed at Prairie View A&M College for the State in Spelling. No one can prepare you all for the loss of your mother. It comes like a thief and robber in the night. Nevertheless, take comfort in knowing she is resting in the arms of our Lord. My deepest condolences to you all. Just a poor boy.
Aug 21, 2019