Gene Different

Text size

Gene Different

Gene Different Brownsboro - Memorial Services for Walter Different of Brownsboro are scheduled for 2:00 p.m. Saturday, January 26, 2019 at Leagueville Baptist Church in Brownsboro with Brother Tom Bragdon officiating.  
Walter Different passed away on January 23, 2019 in Brownsboro, Texas. 
Walter "Gene" Different was born March 16, 1939 in Grapeland, Texas the son of Homer Lee Different and Alma Lee Smith Different. He worked for Gulf State Utilities in Beaumont for 35 years as a Senior Engineering Assistant. He enjoyed fishing, woodworking, was an all-around wonderful man and handyman who loved working on older people's houses when he was younger. He and his loving wife Pat moved to Brownsboro from Beaumont after 45 years where together they attended Leagueville Baptist Church for 5 years. He was a great husband, father and grandfather who will be missed by all those he knew and loved.
He was preceded in death by his parents; brother Roy Different; daughter Carla Belt; son David Different and granddaughter Mandy Herrera.
Gene is survived by his wife of 61 years Pat Different of Brownsboro; one son, Tim Different and wife Sharon of Palestine; sister-in-law Martha Different of Hutto; nine grandchildren and twelve great grandchildren.
Visitation will be held prior to the service from 1-2:00 p.m.  
Funeral arrangements were entrusted to the Hannigan Smith Funeral Home family.  
You may light a candle or write condolences to the family at www.hannigansmith.com
Published on January 25, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of Gene
See more

Obituary published in

Events

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on April 24, 2019.

Select an emblem

12 posts

Paula Kimmich
Jan 28, 2019
Pat, my heart is broken for you. You and Gene had such a wonderful long marriage and life together.....so many sweet memories with such a good man. The whole Goodell family sends all their love to You and your family.
Joy Todora
Jan 28, 2019
Pat, I am so sorry to hear Gene passed away. Please know you are in my thoughts and prayers. I love you, Joy
Martha Head
Jan 26, 2019
Pat, I am so sorry to hear of your loss. Gene was a very special and kind man. He will be greatly missed by many. I could not be with you today due to a service at the exact same time for a family member. Sending my love and prayers to you and your family. Martha
Shelley Rhodes
Jan 26, 2019
My kids and I enjoyed Bro. Gene and Miss Pat as part of our church family at Bible Baptist.
Lance Owen
Jan 25, 2019
God bless and comfort you, Pat and family. With love in Christ.
Melanie Hinson
Jan 25, 2019
The world will not be the same without Gene. I will NEVER forget him, his wit, and his fantastic woodworking and ideas.....He was so talented, kind and accepting. You all are in my prayers and thoughts. Love, Mel
Gwen Moffeit
Jan 25, 2019
You and your family are in our prayers now & will be in the days ahead ...
My heart hurts for you but Heaven is closer now .....
We all love you .....
Jeanne Starkes Hetrick
Jan 25, 2019
The family was always so nice. I was always there in the summers pat and gene was always so good to me. Gene will be so missed. Pat may God be with you thur your loss.
Freddie Wehrmann
Jan 25, 2019
Gene and Pat were and ALWAYS will be two VERY SPECIAL PEOPLE in my Heart!!!! Love ❤️ you guys ALWAYS
Rita plotner
Jan 25, 2019
Pat, sorry to hear about gene. My thoughts and prayers go out to you and the family.gene was a very sweet man. I send my love to all. Rita
Bill Crawford
Jan 25, 2019
A great man that I learned many things from not many weeks have gone by in the last 40 year's that I have not used something that Gene show me are taught me. He will be missed by many.
Byron and Frankie Bostick
Jan 25, 2019
Our hearts hurt for u Tim and family, he was such a great guy. Hang on to all the wonderful memories..