Thomas Luther Whitman

Text size

Thomas Luther Whitman

March 05, 1935 - January 19, 2019

Thomas Luther Whitman Thomas Luther "Tom" Whitman, age 83 of Garland, TX, passed away January 19, 2019. He was born March 5, 1935, Wylie, TX, to Beatrice Lucille (Goen) Whitman. Tom was born and raised in Wylie and was a graduate of Wylie High School. He earned his Bachelor of Science and Masters of Education degrees from North Texas State College. He married the love of his life, Ada Pearl Williams on July 31, 1955, they shared 64 wonderful years together. Tom was a founding faculty member of Lake Highlands High School where he taught biology and later served as assistant principal. In 1979, he moved to Athens, TX and served as principal of Athens High School. After his retirement, he worked for McGraw Hill as a textbook representative. He was a member of Waterview Church of Christ in Richardson.

Tom is survived by his wife: Ada Pearl Whitman; daughters: Lucy Sherman and husband Kevin, Nancy Schwalls and husband Jim, Tommie Ann Araujo and husband Hugo, and Mary Curington and husband Trey; grandchildren: Blake Schwalls, Chase Schwalls and wife Nikki, Andrew Sherman, Lorin Sherman, Brent Sherman, Jay Curington, Chris Araujo, Molly Curington and Madalyn Araujo; great-grandchildren: Micah Sherman and Katie Schwalls. He was preceded in death by his grandson: Corbin Schwalls and his mother.

Visitation will be held 6:30-8:30pm Friday, January 25, 2019, at Allen Funeral Home, 508 Masters Ave, Wylie, TX, 75098. Memorial service will be held at 1:30pm Saturday, January 26, 2019 at Waterview Church of Christ, 1409 N. Waterview Dr, Richardson, TX 75080.

In lieu of flowers donations can be made in Memory of Tom Whitman to Waterview Church of Christ Missions Program.
Published on January 25, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of Thomas
See more

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Events

Memorial service

Saturday January 26, 2019

1:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Waterview Church of Christ

1409 North Waterview Drive, Richardson, TX, USA

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on April 24, 2019.

Select an emblem

2 posts

Harold Wright
Jan 31, 2019
Mary and Trey,

I enjoyed knowing Mr. Whitman and he nurtured my growth as a new teacher when I returned to Athens High School to do my student teaching. I have very fond memories of Mr. Whitman and enjoyed a great relationship as we discussed football while I was his student. He was very genuine and was serious about educating his students. I know that he was the best family man and father and he was a really good principal.
My condolences and prayers to your entire family. May God continue to bless you and keep you in the days ahead. Stay strong and keep the faith.

Sincerely,
Harold Wright
Andersons
Jan 26, 2019
Ada and family,
Please know that Guy and I will be remembering you.
“May the Peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, ...guard your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus." __Philippians 4:7
In His Love,
Ailsa & Guy