Terry Bob Campbell

Text size

Terry Bob Campbell

May 30, 1944 - January 26, 2019

Terry Bob Campbell Terry Bob Campbell was born May 30, 1944 in Dallas, TX. On January 25, 2019 Terry suffered a tragic accident at his home in Larue, and went home to be with the Lord in the very early morning hours on January 26, 2019. He was raised in Greenville, TX where he graduated from Greenville High School in 1962. Terry worked at the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas for over thirty years, before retiring in 2003. During that time Terry met the love of his life, Melinda with whom he shared almost 44 years of loving marriage. He also had three children who he adored and loved with every ounce in him, Amanda, Cody, and Casey. After retiring from the Fed, Terry immediately became bored and began his practice of constant community service. Terry served on the Dallas County Grand Jury; and after he moved to Henderson County in 2005, he delivered food for Meals on Wheels, volunteered with SBTC Disaster Relief in the wake of Hurricane Harvey, served meals at local homeless shelters, and adopted seniors (despite him technically being one himself) for whom he could mow their yard, help around the house, and invite into his home for holidays. He was an incredible man who made a substantial impact on those around him, and he will be deeply missed.
Terry is survived by his devoted wife, Melinda Campbell from Larue, his daughter Amanda Harris with her husband Billy Harris and their son Billy from Irving; his oldest son Cody Campbell from Longview; and his youngest son Casey Campbell from Dallas. He is also survived by his brother Ronnie Campbell from North Carolina, his sisters Cynthia Bicknell with her husband Danny Bicknell from Bedford, TX and Debbie Henderson from Mineola, TX; his Uncle Johnny Campbell and his wife Barbara Campbell from Mt. Vernon, TX; and his mother-in-law Oleta Perry from Laure, to whom he was an exemplary son-in-law; as well as a host of nieces, nephews, and treasured cousins who he loved dearly. And finally, his SWR neighbors who he cared for so deeply. He is preceded in his passing by his beloved mother Leanne Massey and father Bill Murray Campbell.
A celebration of life will be held Saturday, February 2, 2019 at Lake Athens Baptist Church at 1:00 p.m. The family has asked that in lieu of flowers, please make a donation in his name to one of the following organizations:
SBTC Disaster Relief
PO Box 1988
Grapevine, TX 76099-1988
Love In Action Henderson County Homeless Ministries
501 Maple St.
Athens, TX 75751
Published on January 29, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of Terry
See more

Obituary published in

Arrangements by

Hilliard Funeral Home

Events

Celebration of life

Saturday February 02, 2019

1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Lake Athens Baptist Church

5151 FM2495, Athens, TX 75752

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on April 29, 2019.

Select an emblem

10 posts

Cindy Goldman
Feb 02, 2019
Melinda, my heart breaks for you and your precious children. I'm sorry our relationship was limited --mostly cheering together from the GHS sidelines--but I know that Terry was a very special husband and father....it was obvious even then, and has only become more apparent as your boys grew into exceptional young men.
Praying that you will feel surrounded and supported by all the love being sent to you and your family.
Angela Grazioso
Jan 31, 2019
Sending our condolences to you and your family. My thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. β€οΈβ€οΈπŸ™πŸ™πŸ™
Warren Moorman
Jan 31, 2019
I can't begin to describe the sadness our family feels for our cousin and his sweet family! Though he was our cousin, us kids always called him Uncle Terry Bob... And I love that because I feel he was more like a brother to my Dad. Terry was always so gentle and caring to us kids. I was lucky enough to have him take me out hunting one time (which he loved doing) when I was a very young boy. It must have been below freezing as we roughed it in that old box blind. As we waited for our Boone and Crockett record buck to appear I became increasingly cold and shivering. Uncle Terry Bob knew how much I wanted to stay in the blind with him and not leave until we had our trophy deer so he took h...is big ol hands and rubbed them together and took my shoes off and rubbed my feet until I was comfortable again. I don't even remember if we saw anything that day, but his kindness and warmness is something that I will keep with me forever! And that just pretty much sums up how he always makes you feel when you are around him! I love you Uncle Terry Bob and will miss you dearly!Read more
Diane Adlington in UK
Jan 31, 2019
Me deepest condolences to all who grieve. My thoughts are with you. Dear Mandy, prayers for your strength.
Francine Porter Swayze
Jan 30, 2019
Terry Bob was an amazing classmate who remained friends with our class, the great class of '62, Greenville (TX ) High School - he was an excellent role model as husband, father, neighbor, volunteer, church worker, friend, etc - his smile will remain etched in our memories as we think of him - prayers that God will bless his loved ones with strength and peace - he will be missed
diane Billingslea
Jan 30, 2019
My thoughts and prayers are with the family as they send Terry on his loving journey home.
Laurie Roe
Jan 30, 2019
Ricky and I are deeply saddened by the sudden passing of Terry. He was a true spiritual giant who lived his faith out loud. He made you feel like he had known you forever! We are praying for you all!
Marty Wright
Jan 30, 2019
My friend from elementary school to forever. RIP dear friend. You will be missed.
Marti &Jim; Campbell
Jan 30, 2019
We were deeply saddened to learn of Terry’s tragic accident , Sending our love and prayers to Melinda and his whole family... including his extended SFW family.
Love , Marti and Jim Campbell
Bj and Jim Dudley
Jan 29, 2019
Even though we only knew Terry for a short time , he was a person you liked instantly. He had wonderful family. Our thoughts and prayers with the family. πŸ™