Donny Campbell

Text size

Claim this Obituary

Donny Campbell

Donny Campbell Graveside services for Donny Campbell 74, Athens have been scheduled for 11:30 A.M. February 1, 2019 at Athens Cemetery with Dr. Faulk Landrum officiating under the direction of Autry's Carroll-Lehr Funeral Home.
Mr. Campbell passed away peacefully Sunday January 26, 2019 in Tyler.
Donny was born July 9, 1944 in Athens to the late J.M. and Grace Campbell. During Donny's early years his family resided in Three Rivers, Texas where he graduated High School. Donny married his sweetheart Sandra S. Adams May 31, 1966 and they shared 52 wonderful years. Donny graduated from East Texas State University. Donny served his country in the United States Army serving in Germany in the 60's. After his service he returned to Athens where he began his career was with Adam's Brothers Construction and later Henderson County Asphalt Company which he retired from in 2012. Donny loved to go hunting and fishing and enjoyed playing golf.
Donny was preceded in death by his parents, brother; Kenneth Campbell and sister Jean Bradford.
Survivors include his wife of 52 years Sandra A. Campbell of Athens, daughter; Traci Sue Campbell of Dallas and numerous nieces and nephews.
Pallbearers will be Jerry Perkins, Billy Campbell, Ron Dickerson, Cesar Pachoer, Steve Murdock, Billy Norwood and Danny Cummings.
Visitation for family and friends will be held Friday morning February 1, 2019 from 10:00 A.M. to 11:00 A.M. at the funeral home.
In lieu of flowers memorials may be made to a charity of your choice.
The family would like to give their heartfelt thanks to the ICU staff of UT Health East Texas, Athens, Dr. Grey and the staff and doctors of Hospice of East Texas Homeplace in Tyler.
Published on January 29, 2019
Send flowers
in memory of Donny
See more

Obituary published in

Events

Guestbook

Print Guestbook

Share your condolences and special memories.
The guestbook expires on April 29, 2019.

Select an emblem

4 posts

manda hill
Feb 08, 2019
💔 seems not long ago y'all lived on penny ln & i'd stay with y'all & your mom bless her heart was with us the most, man! what patience! or was it a bit of scotch? lol i'm teasing! but your dad would come home & we would entertain him a bit, let your mom rest! i don't remember him saying too much (who could around us) lol at 1st he'd be paying attention then his eyes would like glaze over from being overwhelmed & yeah, i loved being with y'all! rip donny, infinity love & emotions for his girls!!!!! ❤️
Rachel Howard
Jan 31, 2019
Donny has a special place in my heart from the moment I met Traci and we were friends. Through all of Traci and I adventures he and Sandra always welcomed me into there home with hospitality and friendliness. I have always admired his love, care and concern for his family always impressed within me the authentic genuine strong man that he is. My thoughts and prayers are continually with Sandra and Traci. I will do my best to always be the friend Traci can rely on, share the good times and the hurtful times with, to support and encourage and best of all love no matter what! Rest in Peace..Much Love and always with prayer.
Barbara Hudson
Jan 30, 2019
I was very sorry to hear of Donny's passing. Worked with him for many years at Adams Brothers. My sincerest condolences to the family.
Pat Nance
Jan 29, 2019
I remember Donny from our high school days. Always fun to be around, he lived life very well in those days. I remember the Cushman scooter he had that w was the envy of us all. Good bless.